Confirmed Tishana's Tidebinder removes abilities of Ulamog the Ceaseless Hunger after countering the cast trigger

Witehawk

New member
Game ID
862384990
Steps to reproduce:
  • Cast Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, put the "exile 2" cast trigger on the stack
  • In response, cast Tishana's Tidebinder, and target the Ulamog cast trigger with Tidebinder's ETB
  • Ulamog's cast trigger is countered, then the Ulamog spell resolves
  • Ulamog enters with no abilities
According to rule 109.2 (described in this video here:
), Ulamog is a spell, not a permanent when Tidebinder's ability resolves. Since Tidebinder's ability specifically mentions a permanent, and not a spell, Ulamog should have abilities after it resolves.

Example replay:

Event ID: 264764684
Game ID: 862384990
 
Upvote 6
Top