Strict Proctor triggers on Insidious Roots

Game ID
868268900
I sacrificed a food to bring a Cauldron Familiar back to play from the graveyard. This triggered Insidious Roots. Strict Proctor attempted to counter the roots trigger. I don't believe that should happen.
 
Upvote 0

Firedrake

Well-known member
"Return Cauldron Familiar from your graveyard to the battlefield."
triggers: "Whenever one or more creature cards leave your graveyard, create a 0/1 green Plant creature token..."
triggers: "Whenever a permanent entering the battlefield causes a triggered ability to trigger, counter that ability unless its controller pays
2
."

So, is it not allowing you to pay the 2 ?
 
My contention is that leaving the graveyard, and not entering the battlefield, is the condition that is causing the roots to trigger, and therefore it shouldn't activate the proctor. Is that not the case?
 

owlandcrab

Active member
My contention is that leaving the graveyard, and not entering the battlefield, is the condition that is causing the roots to trigger, and therefore it shouldn't activate the proctor. Is that not the case?
This is correct. Insidious Roots's trigger should not cause Strict Proctor's triggered ability to trigger.
 
Top