Seize the Day (and similarly worded cards) should not provide extra combat steps when cast outside a main phase


New member
I played "Etali, Primal Storm" and its attack trigger flipped over a "Seize the Day". In rulings posted on for that card it says: "If you somehow cast it not during a main phase at all, all that happens is you untap the target creature."

The expected behavior is that it only untaps the targeted creature. But I did get an extra combat step. This seems to be a bug. I was able to reproduce this in solitaire games as well.

There are other similar cards, namely Relentless Assault and Fury of the Horde which might also be affected. Cards like "World at War" on the other hand have a different wording and ruling and should be unaffected.
Upvote 1