Not A Bug Volatile stormdrake and protection spell interaction

LordZeppeli

New member
Hi, in a draft league match my opponent cast volatile stormdrake targeting my creature, i cast revitalizing repast to block the exchange but it happened anyway. On the gatherer i read:

07/06/2024As Volatile Stormdrake's last ability resolves, Volatile Stormdrake must be on the battlefield and the target creature must be a legal target. If either of these things isn't true, the ability does nothing.

So it was a bug or i misread the ruling?
 

Neo001992

Well-known member
Hi, in a draft league match my opponent cast volatile stormdrake targeting my creature, i cast revitalizing repast to block the exchange but it happened anyway. On the gatherer i read:

07/06/2024As Volatile Stormdrake's last ability resolves, Volatile Stormdrake must be on the battlefield and the target creature must be a legal target. If either of these things isn't true, the ability does nothing.

So it was a bug or i misread the ruling?
Revitalizing Repast gives a creature indestructible, which does not make it an illegal target when the Volatile Stormdrake's trigger resolves. You would need to give it Hexproof, Shroud, or the appropriate color of Protection to fizzle the trigger.
 

LordZeppeli

New member
Revitalizing Repast gives a creature indestructible, which does not make it an illegal target when the Volatile Stormdrake's trigger resolves. You would need to give it Hexproof, Shroud, or the appropriate color of Protection to fizzle the trigger.
Oh right, still thinking it's a snakeskin veil type card, dumb me. TY
 
Top