Not A Bug Suppression Ray doesn't allow me to stun already tapped creature

tmile77

New member
I may be wrong about the ruling on this, but I thought that the Suppression Ray should allow you to tap the already-tapped opponent's creatures (e.g., creatures that attacked on the previous opponent's turn). This would then allow you to pay 1 energy to also stun that creature (thus preventing him to attack on the next turn). However, despite having enough energy, I was not able to stun the previously tapped creature. I was able to tap and then stun all the other creatures.
 

Firedrake

Well-known member
I'm not a rules guru, but Suppression Ray reads, "choose up to X creatures tapped this way..." The already-tapped creature wasn't "tapped this way" so that may be where the problem lies.
 

Neo001992

Well-known member
Firedrake is correct on this, and the release notes for MH3 also call this out specifically.

  • "Creatures tapped this way" means creatures that became tapped as a result of Suppression Ray's effect, not creatures that were already tapped before Suppression Ray began to resolve. For example, if a player controls two tapped creatures and one untapped creature and you cast Suppression Ray targeting that player, you'll only be able to choose the creature that was untapped to get a stun counter (as long as you paid at least one {E}).
 

Torbin

Staff member
Community Team
Tag applied: Not A Bug
Testing applied: With a game setup including a few creature, Twiddle was used to tap some of the creatures and then Suppression Ray was cast to tap the rest and with it's second ability tried to add a counter to creatures that were not tapped this way.
Test Results: The second ability of Suppression Ray could only affect creatures tapped with the first part of the spell's ability.

Suppression Ray works as intended as stated by the rules.

  • "Creatures tapped this way" means creatures that became tapped as a result of Suppression Ray's effect, not creatures that were already tapped before Suppression Ray began to resolve. For example, if a player controls two tapped creatures and one untapped creature and you cast Suppression Ray targeting that player, you'll only be able to choose the creature that was untapped to get a stun counter (as long as you paid at least one {E})
 
Top