Not A Bug Shadow of the Second Sun allows to cast creatures in 2nd mainphase

NoPainNoGame_

New member
As the title says, my opponent was allowed to play a creature (without flash) in the second mainphase while having shoadow of the second sun in play
4QDCerQ.png
 

Neo001992

Well-known member
This is not a bug, Shadow of the Second Sun triggers during your postcombat main phase, it does not cause you to skip it. The extra beginning phase happens immediately after the postcombat main phase ends.

Shadow of the Second Sun
{4}{U}{U}
Enchantment — Aura

Enchant player
At the beginning of enchanted player’s postcombat main phase, there is an additional beginning phase after this phase.
 

NoPainNoGame_

New member
0da72736-574d-4d99-98ba-3a91c374cd10.jpg

This is not a bug, Shadow of the Second Sun triggers during your postcombat main phase, it does not cause you to skip it. The extra beginning phase happens immediately after the postcombat main phase ends.

Shadow of the Second Sun
{4}{U}{U}
Enchantment — Aura

Enchant player
At the beginning of enchanted player’s postcombat main phase, there is an additional beginning phase after this phase.

Yes but the card also says that "The end step happens after the added untap, upkeep and draw steps."
It implies that the postcombat mainphase will get skipped.
This is definitely a bug, and if it is not, that's not because of the reason you listed, respectfully
 

Firedrake

Well-known member
I think what Neo may have been saying was the creature was probably cast before the end of the second main phase: before the end of that phase, and before the "additional beginning phase." Though I may have misinterpreted his reply, as well.
 

Neo001992

Well-known member
0da72736-574d-4d99-98ba-3a91c374cd10.jpg



Yes but the card also says that "The end step happens after the added untap, upkeep and draw steps."
It implies that the postcombat mainphase will get skipped.
This is definitely a bug, and if it is not, that's not because of the reason you listed, respectfully
Nothing in the rules text of Shadow of the Second Sun implies your postcombat main phase will get skipped. The trigger for Shadow of the Second Sun goes off at the start of your postcombat main phase, you then are still in your postcombat main phase like normal, and then once you move out of your postcombat main phase there is the extra beginning phase that gets inserted right before you would normally go to your end step.

In your screenshot the creature in question being cast is Sarpadian Simulacrum which costs a single {R}, if there was a bug and your opponent was allowed to incorrectly cast this creature after their extra beginning phase had started it wouldn't make sense that all of their mana is untapped in your screenshot.

When you have Shadow of the Second Sun in play your entire turn will progress like this:
  • Untap step
  • Upkeep step
  • Draw step
  • Precombat main phase
  • Beginning of Combat Step
    • Declare Attackers Step
    • Declare Blockers Step
    • Combat Damage Step
    • End of Combat Step
  • Post-combat main phase
  • Untap step
  • Upkeep step
  • Draw step
  • End step
  • Cleanup step
 

Neo001992

Well-known member
I think what Neo may have been saying was the creature was probably cast before the end of the second main phase: before the end of that phase, and before the "additional beginning phase." Though I may have misinterpreted his reply, as well.
This is indeed what I was saying.
 
Top