Not A Bug Explore trigger on invalid target not working as it should in the rules


New member
Ichor Drinker on the board(would likely work for any creature), Map token and mana to activate the ability available. Map token activated and sacrificed targeting Ichor Drinker -> Opponent responds with a "destroy target creature" spell -> no response from either player

Expected spell resolution:
Ichor Drinker goes to the graveyard, explore trigger resolves, I get to reveal the top card of my library and put it into my hand if its a land or put it into the graveyard/keep it there if its a non-land, there is no creature to put counters on anymore

Spell resolution as it happened:
Ichor Drinker goes to the graveyard, explore trigger fizzles and is removed from the stack because it no longer has a legal target

Reference to the rules:
  • If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger "whenever a creature explores" trigger as appropriate
This is not a bug. This happens not because explore does not work without a creature, but because the map token reads "Target creature explores". If the target creature is no longer available, the entire ability fizzles, there's just no explore whatsoever. (EDIT: more clarification - check CR 608.2b)