Could Not Reproduce Abzan Greasefang - Skysovereign piloted w/ Greasefang return hand due to Slip Out the Back, bug?


New member

Today, my opponent do this play:
1. Use "Greasefang" to return "Skysovereign, Consul Flagship" to the battlefield
2. Tap 3 creatures to pilot Skysovereign, Consul Flagship

Then, i responded using "Slip Out the Back" on "Skysovereign, Consul Flagship"

A his end step, the "Skysovereign, Consul Flagship" was returned into his hand.

We do not know if it is normal (rules correctly applied i mean) or if it is a bug. Because "Skysovereign, Consul Flagship" was phase out due to Slip Out the Back, consequently we thought the capacity of "Greasefang" (return to the hand after next end step) could not have been resolved.

Event # 255432109
Game 1 # 824850496

Bug or normal/legit?



Well-known member
Yeah that seems like a bug. The flagship should “not exist” on the battlefield until it phases back in during the next untap step.